Shabbat Dinner Party: Italian Style

Between school, the second issue of the magazine, and two new Israeli friends, I completely forgot to post my delicious photos of my first dinner party. “What were you doing over spring break that you didn’t have time?” That will be an additional post. But this deserves it’s own! Thanks to Hillel and DIY Shabbats, I was able to have 13 friends over and prepare a delicious dinner. I’ve never cooked for more than four people so I was a little nervous, but it came out excellent!

Tiramisu Cheesecake


The cheesecake came out so well and I served it alongside some Tiramisu icecream. Tiramisu overload? Everyone else loved it so I guess not!

This was the most time consuming dish. After slicing, dipping, placing, for two dishes I had to sit down and watch some Bethenny. That was a lot of eggplant!

Presto pesto!

My favorite pasta topping, made by my best friend’s mom was going to be a hard one to perfect. How does she get it so perfectly green and taste amazing every single time? Well, I did it, minus the light green color. After blending everything together I thought it tasted a little off, but decided everyone’s pesto is going to be different. Five minutes after cleaning out the machine, I realized I forgot the parmesan I had just grated and it was sitting next to the machine. So I took everything out again and added the oh so necessary missing ingredient.

After my main dishes were done, I was finally able to make my appetizers which I was most excited about.

Caprese salad on a toothpick, asparagus wrapped in prosciutto, cheeses, and an arugula topped pizza thanks to my dad started the party on a scrumptious note!

After being in Miami the previous week I finally bought the Absolut Miami and played bartender for I think my first time!

When we finally sat down for dinner we said the Shabbos prayers, and began to dig in to a salad topped with goat cheese, pine nuts, and raspberries.

Besides the delicious cheesecake we had just enough time to make some chocolate topped strawberries.

And that, was my first dinner party! I’m excited for many more to come!

Leave a Reply

